Seven European Union nations have declared their intent to promote blockchain technology in their countries. The declaration, during a meeting of EU transport ministers in Brussels, was made by France, Italy, Cyprus, Portugal, Spain, Greece and Malta.

If you believe the tweet from Malta’s junior minister for financial services, the declaration was that country’s idea. This is no surprise considering how much the island nation has done to make blockchain and crypto companies and entrepreneurs feel right at home.

The declaration cites “education, transport, mobility, shipping, Land Registry, customs, company registry and healthcare” as services that can be “transformed” by this technology. The group also cites blockchain technology’s use for protecting citizens’ privacy and making bureaucratic procedures more efficient.

The EU made the declaration the same day the G20 nations made their own declaration during their Argentina meeting: that something has to be done to standardize the regulation of cryptocurrencies.

ThirtyK Staff
If you would like to contact the ThirtyK News Brief team, please email us at